Scientific Advisory Board

Bruce Trapp, PhD


Robert Miller, PhD

Dr. Robert Miller is the Senior Associate Dean for Research at George Washington University. Prior to his work there, he served as Vice Dean of Research at the School of Medicine, the Director of the Center for Translational Neuroscience and the Allen C. Holmes Professor of Neurological Diseases in the Department of Neurosciences at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. Dr. Miller also holds appointments at the Cancer Center and Department of Neurosurgery, University Hospitals of Cleveland. He obtained both his B.Sc. and PhD in Zoology from University College in London, England and joined the faculty at Case Western Reserve University in 1987.

Dr. Miller’s research involves understanding the cellular and molecular factors that regulate glial cell determination in the vertebrate CNS and examining how proliferation and differentiation are controlled in the oligodendrocyte lineage in order to achieve the appropriate number of myelinating oligodendrocytes in the CNS. Dr. Miller has published more than 120 papers in the area of neural development with a particular interest in the brain and spinal cord. He has served on multiple review groups including as chair of NIH study sections. Dr Miller serves on the Editorial board of a number of neurobiological and developmental journals. He has won numerous awards, including the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship Award, Jacob Javits Neuroscience Merit Award from the NIH, and the Charles Judson Herrick Award from the American Association of Anatomists.


Wendy Macklin, PhD

Dr. Wendy Macklin is Professor and Chair of the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology at the University of Colorado Medical School in Denver. She is an internationally recognized authority on the molecular biology of myelin protein genes, particularly the myelin proteolipid protein gene, and she is studying animal models carrying mutations of this gene. Dr. Macklin received her B.S. degree from Stanford University, M.S. degree from Yale University School of Medicine, and Ph.D from Stanford University in 1979.

Dr. Macklin’s research is focused on the molecular control of oligodendrocyte differentiation during brain development, and has generated transgenic mice to investigate the signaling pathways regulating myelination. She has developed various models to image oligodendrocyte differentiation in vivo, which provide real time information on the regulation of oligodendrocyte migration and differentiation.

Dr. Macklin was the 1989 recipient of the Jordi-Folch-Pi Memorial Award for her work to elucidate the properties and function of the myelin proteolipid protein. Dr. Macklin served as President of the American Society of Neurochemistry from 2005-2007. Dr. Macklin has served on many study sections, including several at the NIH, one at the NSF, and two at the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. She is on the editorial boards of several journals, including the Journal of Neuroscience, Journal of Neurochemistry, the Journal of Neuroscience Research, Developmental Neuroscience, and the International Journal of Developmental Neuroscience.

Patrik Brundin, M.D., PhD

Dr. Patrik Brundin is the Associate Director of Research and Director of the Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases at the Van Andel Research Institute. He received his M.D. and PhD degrees from Lund University. Dr. Brundin has over 30 years of experience with neurodegenerative diseases, Parkinson’s disease (PD) pathogenesis, and therapeutic neural grafting into people with PD. He is one of the top cited researchers in the field of neuroscience with nearly 300 publications on PD and related topics. In addition to managing laboratories at VARI and in Lund, Sweden, he is the co-editor in chief of the Journal of PD and has coordinated multiple international research programs. Dr. Brundin is currently an Adjunct Professor at Michigan State University and serves on advisory boards of several biotech and pharmaceutical companies developing drugs for Parkinson’s.