Bruce Trapp, PhD
Founder, Chairman of SAB and Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Bruce D. Trapp is Chairman of the Department of Neurosciences at the Lerner Research Institute, Cleveland Clinic and Professor of Neurosciences at Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Trapp received his Ph.D. from Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago, IL.  He received postdoctoral training at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, MD and then was appointed Assistant and subsequently Associate Professor of Neurology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore.  He joined the Cleveland Clinic as Chairman of the Department of Neurosciences in 1994. He is the recipient of the Jordi Folch-Pi Award from the American Society of Neurochemistry, The Weil Award from the American Association of Neuropathologists, the Harry Weaver Neuroscience Scholar Award from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society (NMSS), the Jacob Javits Award in Neuroscience from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, the John Dystel Prize for MS Research from the American Academy of Neurology and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, the Scientific Achievement Award in Basic Science and the Award for Excellence in Science from the Cleveland Clinic and Dr Trapp is a Fellow of the AAAS. Dr. Trapp’s research investigates the cause of neurological disability in multiple sclerosis patients, cellular mechanism of brain repair in neurodegenerative diseases, and the molecular biology of myelination in the central and peripheral nervous systems.  He is internationally known for his work on mechanisms of neurodegeneration and repair in multiple sclerosis and has published over 185 peer-reviewed articles and over 30 book chapters.  Dr Trapp sits on the advisory board of major biotech companies, the National Institutes of Health and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society and he is active in organizing national and international conferences related to Neurodegenerative diseases.


Vivek B. Shenoy, PhD, MBA

Dr. Vivek Shenoy took over as CEO of Renovo Neural in June 2016. He succeeded the founding CEO Dr. Satish Medicetty, and joined a strong team and operational structure that has contributed to Renovo’s progress and accomplishments since its inception. Dr. Shenoy brings over 25 years of combined experience in research, drug development and commercial roles. He has held several senior positions at AstraZeneca, Incyte Corporation, and Biocon Limited, bringing robust global industry experience to Renovo. He started his career in Mumbai, India, and obtained his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of Bombay (Mumbai). He earned a PhD in Molecular Biology from the University of Florida (UF). Following his PhD, he joined the department of Pediatrics, and helped set up the Neonatal and Biochemical Research Laboratory at UF, and trained several MD fellows, post-graduate and undergraduate research associates. He chose to pursue an MBA in International Business and Entrepreneurship and worked at a start-up biotech venture focusing on nucleic acid diagnostics, before joining AstraZeneca, where he worked for nearly 12 years in various roles in Sales, Product Development, Product Management and BD&L. Dr. Shenoy then took an opportunity to head the Novel Programs pipeline for Biocon Limited in Bangalore, India. Most recently he has been involved in several BD&L deals in the biopharmaceutical industry after his return to the US.


Simon Lunn, PhD
Director of Laboratory Operations

Dr. J. Simon Lunn began his work at Renovo Neural as a Scientist and Laboratory manager in February of 2014 before taking on a position as Director of Laboratory Operations in February 2016 to coordinate all client and R&D studies. Dr. Lunn has focused his career on understanding and promoting regeneration of the nervous system. He earned a B.Sc. in Biochemistry from the University of Glasgow with a keen interest in cell signaling mechanisms. Dr. Lunn then pursued his PhD at the University of Dundee to understand the signaling mechanisms responsible for establishment of the early neural plate. He received postdoctoral training to focus on axon guidance at the University of Michigan, eventually taking a role as Director of Stem Cell Operations. During his time at the University of Michigan, Dr. Lunn studied the potential use of growth factor and stem cell therapeutics to treat amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). Along with generating pre-clinical data to support the first US clinical trial for spinal cord neural progenitor cell treatment, he actively worked on the generation on combinatorial approaches to stem cell and growth factor therapies. Dr. Lunn is credited with initiating the University of Michigan ALS Repository, the first biobank repository of biologics focused on ALS in the US, aiming to aid in world-wide efforts to understand familial and sporadic forms of the disease by providing tissue for both. In his last 4 years at Renovo, he has used his skills as a communicator and mentor to grow the scientific capital of Renovo. Dr. Lunn is a great believer in facilitating his team to provide the best possible science to move the MS community closer to long lasting regenerative therapies.


Grahame Kidd, PhD
Scientific Director – 3DEM

Dr. Grahame Kidd joined Renovo Neural in 2010 as Scientific Director of Renovo’s Three-Dimensional Electron Microscopy (3DEM) lab. Prior to his work with Renovo, Dr. Kidd began working at the Cleveland Clinic’s Lerner Research Institute as a Project Scientist in 1999 and continues his work their while working with Renovo. He received both his Bsc and his PhD from the University of Newcastle, Australia. Dr. Kidd’s career has focused on the cell biology of axons and glial cells in degenerative diseases of peripheral and central nervous systems (PNS, CNS). His research has produced over 70 papers and numerous review articles and chapters. Dr. Kidd’s PhD work won the Cowlie-Moody Award of the Australian Electron Microscopy Society. Since then, by combining skills in cellular neurobiology, microscopy, and computing, he has increased understanding of neurodegenative diseases and provided new means to study them.


Yan Yang, M.D., PhD
Associate Director of Research & Development Division

Dr. Yan Yang joined Renovo Neural in 2016 and currently serves as Associate Director of Research & Development Division, as well as leads the in vitro team. Before joining Renovo, she was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology at Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Yang earned a PhD from the University of Heidelberg, Germany and an MD from Kunming Medical University, P.R China. She then completed postdoctoral training in the Department of Neurosciences at Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Yang has long-standing interests in studying the pathogenesis mechanism of neuronal cell death related to neurodegenerative diseases, as well as the regulation of oligodendrocyte regeneration and development for over 20 years. She has extensive experience in various in vitro and in vivo animal models of myelination/demyelination and axonal myelin repair for Multiple Sclerosis. She has published numerous peer-reviewed papers in both fields of neurodegenerative diseases and regeneration in demyelinating diseases.